Cable Advisory Board

The Cable Television Advisory Committee shall be comprised of 5 citizens, appointed by the city council  for 2-year terms. Initial appointments shall be staggered so that appointments expire in successive years. The committee shall elect a chairman and a clerk. The membership shall be made of citizens with diverse backgrounds and should include at least one person knowledgeable in the technical aspects of cable television service. No board member shall be affiliated with a local cable franchisee in any way.

 The purpose of the Cable Television Advisory Committee is to provide advice and assistance to the city council  in monitoring compliance with the Cable Television License Agreement and other aspects of cable television service including the local access channels.


  • To review and be familiar with the broad terms of the cable licensing agreement between the city council and the franchisee;
  • To advise the city council during the negotiations for successor licensing agreements and to help ensure compliance with renewal requirements;
  • To receive and evaluate citizen complaints, concerns, and suggestions concerning cable service, compliance with the agreement, and other aspects of cable service;
  • To evaluate the performance of the public, educational, and governmental (PEG) access provider, for community access television services;
  • To meet with the city council from time to time and to advise the Board on matters concerning service, compliance, the regulatory climate, and other matters of relevance to cable subscribers;
  • To submit an annual report of activities to be included in the Annual Town Report.
  • To conduct an annual public hearing to review the performance of the PEG Access provider;
  • To perform such other duties related to cable service as the Selectmen may from time-to-time request;
  • To continue to investigate and to advise the city council  on new technologies.


  • John Fellows
    Term expires: 2025
  • Caroline Johnson
    Term expires: 2025
  • Martha Hamilton
    Term expires: 2023
  • Sharon Petzak
    Term expires: 2023

  • Julie Giles-Sherlock
     Term expires: 2023
  •  David Hawley
    Term expires: 2024
  • Robert Rapacki
    Term expires:  2024