Mass Transit Authority

The Mass Transit Authority Board consists of 5 members, appointed by the mayor. The Mass Transit Authority Board is an Act 196 Transit Authority. Established in 1974, LMTA serves residents in the cities of Ludington, Scottville and Pere Marquette Charter Township. 


  • The authority may plan, promote, finance, acquire, improve, enlarge, extend, own, construct, operate, maintain, replace, and contract for public transportation service by means of 1 or more public transportation systems and public transportation facilities. 
  • This public authority is a public benefit agency and instrumentality of the state with all the powers of a public corporation, to accomplish its purposes and to control, operate, administer, and exercise the franchise of the public transportation system and public transportation facilities.


  • Melissa Mutton
    Term expires: 2026
  • Melissa Alvarado
    Term expires: 2025
  • Rose Baker
    Term expires: 2026

  • Robert Overholt
    Term expires: 2025
  • Ted Heinrich
    Term expires: 2024
Terms expire December 31st of listed year.

Meetings are held the last Tuesday of each month at Noon at the LMTA Board Room at 5545 Carr St., Ludington, MI 49431. For additional questions please call (231)845-1231 or email TRANSIT@LMTA.US .

Additional Information

Access the Michigan Department of Transportation online resource for more information on the Ludington Transportation Authority.